The Pot
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Log inLog in  HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  

Close decision?

Go down 
+2
skisimon
nick
6 posters
AuthorMessage
nick

Close decision? Empty
PostSubject: Close decision?   Close decision? EmptyWed Apr 22, 2009 10:16 pm

This situation arose the other night (not at Somersham).

2 tables, 7 at the table, freeze-out. UTG goes all-in for 15-20 big blinds, seat 4 folds, seat 5 goes all-in for 30 BBs. You are in seat 6 with KK and a stack of 50 BBs. UTG is a good aggressive player, maybe a little loose, seat 5 somewhat tighter. Question: what do you do, and why?
Back to top Go down
skisimon

skisimon

Close decision? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Close decision?   Close decision? EmptyThu Apr 30, 2009 7:51 pm

Not that i'm an expert. This is how i'd look at it.

UTG could shove with any pair or ak, aq, aj.

I don't think he would shove with AA, just call or ssmall raise hoping someone else would Reraise then he could shove

Even though they are short stacked it's not the best position to push with nothing.

Seat 5 has re raised all in. So wants to isolate UTG. A med high pair or maybe AK, AQ ,AJ or even big suited connector.

So I with KK would shove it all in to put off the blinds,

Worst case is that both have pairs (especially AA but I think it's not often you see AA againts KK pre flop) and one hit trips but even if seat 5 wins you still have 20BB. Maybe both have a big Ace. happy days.

Why would UTG push with the nuts pre flop with 6 more possible raisers that he could go over the top of?

What would you do in seat 5 with Aces. I probably would go all in (depending on the stack sizes left in play). If I called 20BB leaving me 10BB and then a large stack say 100BB called and he misses flop.